The secrets to a happy marriage RHONJ style

Since this a wedding blog, I thought I’d share my thoughts about a particular book about marriage that has been brought to my attention. I had to post about this because I can’t believe this book was published. One of the Real Housewives of New Jersey, Melissa Gorga decided that it would be a fabulous idea to write an advice book about tricks and trips to having a successful marriage called “Love, Italian Style: The Secrets of My Hot and Happy Marriage”. aug-2

I haven’t read, nor will I ever read this book. I’ve read enough comments and feedback to have a pretty good picture of her marital “advice”. Let’s start with one of  the tips from the book:

Men, I know you think your woman isn’t the type who wants to be taken. But trust me, she is. Every girl wants to get her hair pulled once in a while. If your wife says “no,” turn her around, and rip her clothes off. She wants to be dominated. Women don’t realize how easy men are. Just give us what we want.

That’s nice; the key to a successful marriage is marital rape. This is wrong, just wrong. This is such a caveman logic where it’s okay for men to dominate and control women. Other little gems in the book include Melissa letting her husband yell at her so he can “release stress”, and oh, after 30 years he still doesn’t know she poops. If you do choose to read this book, I’d suggest reading it as a guide on what NOT to do for a successful marriage. For more on the book, check out this article from Huffington Post.

Thanks everyone for the continued love and support!
311 days.

Leave a comment